Jul 21, 2023

Department celebrates class of 2023 at annual Graduation ceremony

The Graduation ceremony inside Hart House
By Nick Patch

The Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology recently celebrated our 2023 class of graduating residents and fellows with our annual Graduation ceremony, held at the Great Hall in Hart House.

In total, 162 guests gathered to celebrate the achievements of our graduating PGY5 residents, clinical fellows, and subspecialists, together enjoying a spirited evening that included live music, a buffet dinner and cocktail reception, and a program of children’s entertainment for the families in attendance.

Presented by the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology along with the Postgraduate Medical Education Office and the Office of Advancement, the Graduation ceremony also included an award ceremony for graduating residents and trainees.

See a full list of award winners below.

“I would like to thank every graduating PGY5 for your amazing hard work, delivering 24/7 patient care during your residencies, for your front-line bravery during the intense waves of COVID, for navigating many hospital electronic medical record systems, and for all the much-appreciated teaching you have each delivered to medical students, your junior residents and peers,” said Dr. John Kingdom, Chair, in his opening remarks to the graduates.

“Let me also thank all of our graduating clinical fellows, for being equally key to the delivery of ever busier and more complex subspecialty programs across our city, and for your trust in us to complete your career path with specialized training. We hope that all the challenges you have faced over the past years will now seem worthwhile, and that during this period of time you have developed some lifelong friendships within our amazing ob-gyn community.

“Let us salute the great work of our graduates tonight for all their dedicated patient care.”

Award Winners

Dr. Paul Bernstein Award

Yannay Khaikin

Excellence in Clerkship Teaching PGY1

Lauren Clarfield

Excellence in Clerkship Teaching PGY2

Salwa Farooqi and Tommy Hana

Excellence in Clerkship Teaching PGY3

Corey Sermer and Nour Bakhache

Excellence in Clerkship Teaching PGY4

Gracie Pio and Martha Smith

Excellence in Clerkship Teaching PGY5

Sara Porisky and Yiwen Liu

NASPAG Outstanding Resident Award

Anouk Benseler

SMFM Resident Award for Excellence in Obstetrics

Noora Alshamsi and Anand Lakhani

Division of Gynaecologic Oncology Resident Award

Anouk Benseler

Ray Osborne Division of Urogynecology Award

Corey Sermer

AAGL Recognition for Excellence in MIG Award

Hanna Goldberg

Social Responsibility Award in Global Women’s Health and Vulnerable Populations

Faculty: Julie Thorne
Resident: Haniya Khan

Dr. Fredrick R. Papsin Award

Noora Alshamsi and Anouk Benseler

CREOG Faculty Award

Nirmala Chandrasekaran

Neelam Sierra Resident Advocacy Award

Carmen McCaffrey